Skip to Content

University Events

The Women of Bristol Exhibition

Monday, April 3, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Saturday, April 8, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Saturday, April 15, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Saturday, April 22, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Friday, April 28, 2017
Saturday, April 29, 2017

Upcoming Event:
April 25, 2017
All Day

More Upcoming Events:
April 26, 2017
April 27, 2017
April 28, 2017
April 29, 2017
Location: Rogers Free Library, Bristol
  • Open to the Public

The Women of Bristol Exhibition, organized by Roger Williams University Archivist Heidi Benedict, is the first ever exhibit-oriented collaboration between nearly all of Bristol’s historic, arts, and cultural institutions. Exhibit contributors include Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum, The Bristol Historical & Preservation Society, Coggeshall Farm Museum, First Congregational Church, Herreshoff Marine Museum, Linden Place Mansion, Rogers Free Library, and Roger Williams University Library. The exhibition focuses on several important women from Bristol living between 1795 and 1995 -- Maria Rogers, Theodora DeWolf Colt, Izannah Walker, Abby D. Munro, Alice Bell Morgan, Marjorie Randolph Van Wickle Lyon, Jane Nelle and Alice DeWolf Pardee. Although not from Bristol, Amelia Simmons, author of the first American cookbook, is also included in the exhibit. The exhibition brings together a unique collection of objects, including cooking and sailing implements, artwork, photographs, books, and other written material.

The exhibit opens in the Rogers Free Library entrance gallery, 525 Hope Street, Bristol, R.I., on April 1 and will be available for viewing during library hours until April 30. Library hours are 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday through Thursday and 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Friday and Saturday.

The exhibit is free and open to the public.